Interesting blog – do we build the houses we want, or the ones data/policy says we need..

The Shelter From All Storms

‘Home is Where the Heart Is’

As I wrote in my Masters dissertation back in 2010, a home has many meanings within its philosophy. It is a ‘castle’, ‘where the heart is ‘ and to the more extreme extent; ‘the spatial unit that secures all feelings of coping’. (If you are wondering about that last one, it is from the ontological Mac Daddy of housing himself: Peter Saunders).

Although the home is an integral factor to living (a la Maslow’s Hierarchy Of Needs) I see it a little differently in practice. I feel that I am actually living the ideas contained within Ron Bailey’s seminal work “The Homeless and the Empty Houses”. Not only have I seen first hand entrenched homelessness within higher demand areas, I have seen through my favoured domain (yes, national statistics), bedroom tax is disabling tenants to afford to live in currently available accommodation…that…

View original post 845 more words

