tommurtha

When I retired from full time work 2 years ago. I told everyone that I planned to go quietly and not hang around at Conferences like a bad smell. I have seen too many in the housing sector do this. One of the saddest sights I ever saw was in the Palace of Westminster late one evening when I encountered Harold Wilson wondering around like a lost soul.
So why am I here today? The answer is simple. I became angry. I became angry at the demonization of the poor especially those that live in social housing. I became angry at the demolition of the welfare state which had provided my home my health and my education. And I became angry at what I have described as the slow death of social housing and the lack of response from our leaders to speak out on its behalf.
This strange silence…

View original post 640 more words

